Gradings take place in DCU Karate Club approximately every 3 months and are conducted by grading examiners from JKA-Shotokan Ireland.

Grades prior to black belt are called kyu grades and those after black belt are called dan grades. There are nine kyu grades (designated by different colour belts) and ten dan grades. While different karate clubs and associations use slightly different grading structures, the following is the progression used by JKA-Shotokan Ireland:

  • Beginner: White
  • 9th kyu: Orange
  • 8th kyu: Red
  • 7th kyu: Yellow
  • 6th kyu: Green
  • 5th kyu: Purple
  • 4th kyu: Purple
  • 3rd kyu: Brown
  • 2nd kyu: Brown
  • 1st kyu: Brown
  • 1st-10th dan: Black

Students are examined in kihon (basics), kata (forms) and kumite (sparring) appropriate for their level. You will find the requirements for each specific grade here.

Students who grade with us up to 1st kyu will then be eligible to take an internationally recognised black belt grading with the Japan Karate Association (JKA).

If you have any questions about what is required for your next grade or when you are eligible to attempt it, just ask your class instructor.